Daenerys Targaryen Costume

Hello everyone! I hope you are having an amazing day! It’s been a really looooong time since my last post. So today I got a little inspired and thought it was time for me to post something new. I recently did a Daenerys Targaryen costume for Carnivals’ Day and I am totally in love with. For all of you who love Game of Thrones as much as I do, this is an easy and extremely cheap way to recreate one of Daenerys most famous outfits. The Qarth Dress. Either you want it for Halloween, Cosplay, or whatever else this is how you can do it yourself. 🙂 


The original dress:

dany long dress reg

(via Pinterest)

                 Step 1: Making of the golden belt and shoulder pieces

You will need:

  • a glue gun
  • some golden spray paint 

First of all, you need to design the belt and the shoulder pieces on a piece of paper, preferably wax paper so it can peel off easily. Make sure to match the size of your waist with the belt’s size in order for it to fit you right. After you’ve done that go ahead and use the hot glue gun following the design you just made. After it has dried then use the paint spray to make it golden. And that’s basically it. Here you can check the photos to understand the procedure better.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

          Step 2: The making of the dress

Practically, the dress is made out of two pieces. A maxi skirt and the two shoulder pieces attached to long pieces of fabric.

For this you will need:

  • some fabric (depending on your height and measurements of your body)
  • an elastic for the skirt’s waist
  • sewing skills (sewing machine/ needle and a thread)

For the skirt all I did was folding the piece that would go around my waist and sew it in order to create some space for the elastic. (not really good at explaining this, but luckily there are pictures haha). After you’ve done that pass the elastic through that space and secure it in the end. Lastly, sew the fabric where the back side should be in order to create the final piece. (btw I didn’t have my sewing machine at that time, so I used needle and a thread to sew it)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As for the shoulder pieces, what you have to do is the following. Cut four long pieces of fabric, measuring from the shoulder to your toe for front and back accordingly. After you cut these sew them onto the golden shoulder pieces. The front side to the front side of the shoulder piece and the back side to the back side of the shoulder piece. Then place them onto you wearing the skirt and secure the front pieces under the golden belt. Leave the back pieces outside of the belt so they look like a cape. (again not good at explaining this, check the pictures)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I finished the look with Daenerys’s Dragon Necklace. This was a gift so I don’t know where you can find it for sure. And then I also got a small dragon, like Daenerys has.

This was the tutorial for the Daenerys’s Qarth Dress. You can always adjust it to how you want it to be. You can add more golden details, hang some golden beads like she has. I hope it was helpful. Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Don’t forget to press the follow button on my blog page in order to keep up with all my latest posts and check my Instagram and Twitter page for more 🙂

Leave a Reply

